Rtek Forum Discuss the Rtek 2.0 and other Rtek ECU's

Official Android Rtek Thread

Old 07-03-13, 01:40 PM
  #151  
Full Member
 
mfishe12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bluffton, SC
Posts: 134
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm down for one as well!!!! Glad to see some progress. I will also be sending my S4 NA ecu to be Rteked soon! I love it with my TII! I have a friend who spent 3 times more than me on his build most of it on the ecu and he barely pulls ob me. Super happy!
mfishe12 is offline  
Old 07-03-13, 02:50 PM
  #152  
Hooked
5 Year Member
iTrader: (7)
 
HRnico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hood River OR.
Posts: 402
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just need to find a ECU than I'm dropping in.
HRnico is offline  
Old 07-05-13, 02:13 PM
  #153  
Rotary Enthusiast
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: ..
Posts: 1,311
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I fixed the fatal error with the bargraph screen.

I found the easiest way to install the palm app in Styletap is to download it off the web, then click it and it will install it in styletap. So I put the file up unzipped so you can do so.

www.digitaltuning.com/software/rx7_logger_bt.prc

Current version is 2.1.3 Build 7BT

Thanks to righthandfc for talking with the styletap guys to get info on the error.

I also found that uninstalling styletap and reinstalling renews the 14day trial..
turbo2ltr is offline  
Old 07-07-13, 10:12 PM
  #154  
Eats, Sleeps, Dreams Rotary
iTrader: (9)
 
Alak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,040
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I don't know about you guys,

But I'm excited.
Alak is offline  
Old 07-07-13, 10:39 PM
  #155  
BRAP,BRAP,BRAP
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: oxnard
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Glad i can help... Cool, will try it on my new tablet, upgraded from the 7inch to the 10inch and was worried the trial version followed my account... Thanks for the info
righthandfc is offline  
Old 07-07-13, 11:15 PM
  #156  
Eats, Sleeps, Dreams Rotary
iTrader: (9)
 
Alak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,040
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I got an LG Optimus 2x Im going to pick up and give it a go. I already have a bluetooth dongle from another project. Just didnt have the android phone.
Alak is offline  
Old 07-08-13, 01:07 PM
  #157  
This sh*t burns oil!
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC - USA
Posts: 1,211
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
hmm. the motor is about smoked in my vert, but i may try and play with this before the tii shows up.
SpikeDerailed is offline  
Old 07-12-13, 05:08 AM
  #158  
Full Member
iTrader: (1)
 
don3vor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: elkton,md
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Im very exited about this count me in!!
don3vor is offline  
Old 07-22-13, 07:59 PM
  #159  
rx-for-my-7
5 Year Member
iTrader: (1)
 
NJGreenBudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,191
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Very cool update. I just picked up one of the bluetooth interfaces today, looking forward to trying it out with a Trial version of StyleTap on my new Asus tablet.
NJGreenBudd is offline  
Old 07-23-13, 01:36 PM
  #160  
Full Member
 
Trolloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Longview, TX
Posts: 229
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Any chance for us new rtek guys to get a deal for buying a 2.1 and bluetooth dongle?
Trolloc is offline  
Old 07-23-13, 01:42 PM
  #161  
Rotary Enthusiast
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: ..
Posts: 1,311
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
certainly a possibility. Still waiting for the boards to come in...
turbo2ltr is offline  
Old 07-24-13, 11:23 PM
  #162  
Hooked
5 Year Member
iTrader: (7)
 
HRnico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hood River OR.
Posts: 402
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Should have my N332 monday and will need 2.1 and bluetooth for it
HRnico is offline  
Old 07-28-13, 08:06 AM
  #163  
rx-for-my-7
5 Year Member
iTrader: (1)
 
NJGreenBudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,191
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Just wanted to say I did get it working with my Asus tablet and the linked to bluetooth adapter. Works perfectly.

What's the best way to deal with the trial version of the styletap? Am I going to lose any settings or anything when I reinstall it every two weeks?
NJGreenBudd is offline  
Old 07-29-13, 12:56 PM
  #164  
rx-for-my-7
5 Year Member
iTrader: (1)
 
NJGreenBudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,191
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Was playing with this last night, entering some map based timing values and encountered a few problems:

1) Connection to the ECU seems to drop randomly
2) Someitmes I get an error similar to "Unexpected Table Size"
3) Eventually it stopped allowing me to select cells and change them via the tablet and bluetooth.
4) Using the palm and serial connection I was able to resume the job and finish the timing table.

Any ideas?
NJGreenBudd is offline  
Old 07-29-13, 03:12 PM
  #165  
BRAP,BRAP,BRAP
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: oxnard
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by NJGreenBudd View Post
Was playing with this last night, entering some map based timing values and encountered a few problems:

1) Connection to the ECU seems to drop randomly
2) Someitmes I get an error similar to "Unexpected Table Size"
3) Eventually it stopped allowing me to select cells and change them via the tablet and bluetooth.
4) Using the palm and serial connection I was able to resume the job and finish the timing table.

Any ideas?
1)which bluetooth dongle you using? for me it only dropped connection when i got to far from the car
2)try using the original rtek app, before he updated it. it maybe something in the software again. it worked fine with the 2.2 software. ill mess with it this weekend on mine...
righthandfc is offline  
Old 07-29-13, 03:50 PM
  #166  
rx-for-my-7
5 Year Member
iTrader: (1)
 
NJGreenBudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,191
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I am using the bluetooth adapter that was linked to in this thread, this one: Wireless Serial Bluetooth adapter with RS232 interface . It doesn't loose the bluetooth syncg just the ECU connection in the Rtek screen.

It seemed to be working fine for the simple stuff but after a few rows of timing values it started to get slow and then showed other symbols on the screen in addition to the map, timing and rpm buttons, kinda glitchy. Shortly afterwards it wouldn't allow me to even select cells, let alone change the values. I did reboot the tablet, tuned the car off and back on, kept it on a charger the whole time so the car had +13.9v.

I'll try again with the earlier version maybe.

Thanks!
NJGreenBudd is offline  
Old 08-14-13, 06:23 PM
  #167  
Rotary Enthusiast
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: ..
Posts: 1,311
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Hey guys, The BT adapter is on our site now.

There is no separate page for it, it's listed in the pulldown on the stage 2 pages. The unit is the same for all ECUs.

Rtek7 ECU Upgrade Detailed Information

We have a limited number in stock right now, but we are making more.
turbo2ltr is offline  
Old 08-18-13, 01:16 PM
  #168  
Life Project.
iTrader: (1)
 
10thaniv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: BEDFORD, TX
Posts: 605
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just bought the BT adapter, now I need to decide on a tablet to buy. Any suggestions? I will only be using the tablet in the 7 for the 2.1 tuning and logging. Thanks
10thaniv is offline  
Old 09-06-13, 01:28 AM
  #169  
Full Member
iTrader: (1)
 
linuxadickt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Any chance of a port still instead of working on emulation?

I was super pumped for months and months to finally be able to export tunes and use android for real...
Honestly super disappointing
linuxadickt is offline  
Old 09-19-13, 08:09 AM
  #170  
Hooked
5 Year Member
iTrader: (7)
 
HRnico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hood River OR.
Posts: 402
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
So any updates. Trying to decide which device to get. Any android based tablet and your BT adapter should work ?
Or maybe a T3 with BT feature?
HRnico is offline  
Old 09-19-13, 10:25 AM
  #171  
Rotary Enthusiast
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: ..
Posts: 1,311
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
The requirements are that the Android device has bluetooth and supports the SPP profile. The cheaper tablets may not support SPP.

I don't know what Android OS version styletap requires off hand.


I have not tried using BT on a T3. In theory it should work, and if you are interested in that route, I can certainly work with you to address any issues you may run into.
turbo2ltr is offline  
Old 10-11-13, 12:22 PM
  #172  
Senior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Ma7daPOW3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Towson, MD
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Does anyone know if the Galaxy Tab (1) 7-inch supports SSP? I haven't been able to find a definitive answer and I found one on sale...
Ma7daPOW3R is offline  
Old 10-11-13, 01:06 PM
  #173  
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
NoPstnsFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What are the voltage requirments of the BT dongle i just bought from your site. just trying to figure out where to wire it in.
NoPstnsFC is offline  
Old 10-11-13, 01:14 PM
  #174  
Rotary Enthusiast
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: ..
Posts: 1,311
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Ma7daPOW3R View Post
Does anyone know if the Galaxy Tab (1) 7-inch supports SSP? I haven't been able to find a definitive answer and I found one on sale...
Looks like as long as it's not the verizon version, it should work.
https://community.verizonwireless.com/thread/336065



What are the voltage requirments of the BT dongle i just bought from your site. just trying to figure out where to wire it in.
8 to 18v. So Any fused 12V ignition supply would do.
turbo2ltr is offline  
Old 10-11-13, 01:21 PM
  #175  
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
NoPstnsFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
awesome thank you !!!
NoPstnsFC is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Official Android Rtek Thread


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: