3rd Generation Specific (1993-2002) 1993-2002 Discussion including performance modifications and Technical Support Sections.
Sponsored by:

Scam or could this be legit

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Aug 20, 2009 | 02:11 PM
  #1  
fdfreak's Avatar
Thread Starter
Senior Member
Tenured Member 10 Years
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 503
Likes: 0
From: Fargo, doncha know
Scam or could this be legit

Browsing on ebay and came across this famous rx7. Not sure if its a scam or not

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/CUSTO...=p4506.c0.m245
Reply
Old Aug 20, 2009 | 02:29 PM
  #2  
Sgtblue's Avatar
Urban Combat Vet
Tenured Member: 20 Years
Liked
Loved
Community Favorite
iTrader: (16)
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 12,160
Likes: 983
From: Mid-west
I didn't see anything to make me suspicious that the ad is not for real. Sounds like he's making an honest (realistic) attempt at the description...good and bad. And in other obvious scams, that's unusual. He also encourages a local sell, requires local pick-up and gives a specific location in California...rather than a more generic sort of location like "USA" or "WEST COAST" or even "LOS ANGELES AREA". Plus a contact e-mail which could be checked.
I'm not huge on Tuner magazines, but thinking that if it was that high of profile car and displayed at SEMA....if he weren't the true owner the real owner would probably be alerted in short order.
Reply
Old Aug 20, 2009 | 03:45 PM
  #3  
djseven's Avatar
Eh
Tenured Member: 20 Years
Liked
Loved
Community Favorite
iTrader: (56)
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,554
Likes: 344
From: Nashville, TN
Doesnt look like a scam to me, just looks like an over priced rx7 in my opinion. Different strokes for different folks I guess. I would be buying the 95 car on ebay for $8500 buy it now or whatever the price is if I was buying one of the cars on ebay right now.

The car in the link you posted looks like someone just threw a bunch of money at a car, not wisely I might add, but once again, different strokes for different folks.
Reply
Old Aug 20, 2009 | 03:47 PM
  #4  
WaachBack's Avatar
Finally Knows
Tenured Member: 20 Years
Liked
Loved
iTrader: (22)
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,108
Likes: 0
From: Hawaii
I wouldnt see why it is a scam. It has a blown engine.
Reply
Old Aug 20, 2009 | 03:48 PM
  #5  
GoodfellaFD3S's Avatar
Original Gangster/Rotary!
Veteran: Army
Tenured Member: 25 Years
Liked
Loved
iTrader: (213)
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 30,814
Likes: 655
From: FL-->NJ/NYC again!
If it was a scam he wouldn't have listed the tires as 'Coopers'
Reply
Old Aug 20, 2009 | 04:19 PM
  #6  
djseven's Avatar
Eh
Tenured Member: 20 Years
Liked
Loved
Community Favorite
iTrader: (56)
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,554
Likes: 344
From: Nashville, TN
Originally Posted by WaachBack
I wouldnt see why it is a scam. It has a blown engine.
I didnt even catch that part, a blown auto for$18K??? If someone pays that for I guess you could consider it a scam
Reply
Old Aug 21, 2009 | 01:44 PM
  #7  
fdfreak's Avatar
Thread Starter
Senior Member
Tenured Member 10 Years
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 503
Likes: 0
From: Fargo, doncha know
From the pics it looks like it would be a decent show car. I guess I didnt catch that blown enging part either. But there still is a but load of money put into it. with all the money you could make parting it out, one would think you could still get a decent return on it
Reply
Old Aug 21, 2009 | 02:38 PM
  #8  
dguy's Avatar
Rotary Freak
Tenured Member: 20 Years
Liked
iTrader: (8)
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,660
Likes: 334
From: sb
Not a scam, but I think it'd be worth 10k max, if the work that was done was done properly.
Reply
Old Aug 21, 2009 | 04:40 PM
  #9  
Rice Hata's Avatar
RX7Club OG
Tenured Member: 20 Years
Liked
iTrader: (24)
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 395
Likes: 10
From: OC
"this car was the first car in 2004 to come out with a complete carbon fiber body kit and a lambo door kit that year in which IT BLEW UP THE CARBON FIBER INDUSTRY. It has been in many magazine covers, t.v shows, movies and ADULT FILM say to least."

The ad had me at blew and adult film. I wonder if there is any remaining evidence from the film which might justify the $18k price.
Reply
Old Oct 16, 2021 | 10:17 PM
  #10  
GoodfellaFD3S's Avatar
Original Gangster/Rotary!
Veteran: Army
Tenured Member: 25 Years
Liked
Loved
iTrader: (213)
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 30,814
Likes: 655
From: FL-->NJ/NYC again!
Exclamation

Bumping this up, this dude: JhosuaRamos is suddenly all over the Facebook RX-7 groups promoting his body kit parts like a boss.

Buyer beware guys----

Reply
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
DarkKnightFC
3rd Generation Specific (1993-2002)
1
Oct 12, 2006 07:18 PM
bobbydick
3rd Generation Specific (1993-2002)
40
Oct 2, 2005 02:37 AM
Kentetsu
1st Generation Specific (1979-1985)
15
Jul 24, 2004 07:27 AM
Critoris
1st Generation Specific (1979-1985)
6
Nov 24, 2003 10:19 PM




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.