Microtech Area is for discussing Microtech systems

Microtech Another No Start Thread

Old 08-22-09, 12:53 AM
  #1  
WON'T FORGET DAVE
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
drugblock12a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Twin Cites
Posts: 1,778
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Another No Start Thread

Alright here we go. Some backround info
-Rebuilt S4 T2 engine
-Large streetport
-Stock turbo
-Stock 550s
-255 pump

Will not start. Orange light is blinking. I am getting spark and fuel (too much I think). Tps is as it should be. Fresh spark plugs. I am getting a RPM error every few tries. I'm pretty sure I'm on the timing. I have it set to the yellow mark and have the CAS stabbed properly.

If i'm lucky I can get it to start and it will rev to about 3k and die.

Should my map start the car without my foot on the throttle a bit? Could it be a timing issue? Everything appears to be on working order on the microtech.

This is my map.
Idle Map
Screen 1

30" ~ 1.33
25" ~ 1.48
20" ~ 1.43
15" ~ 1.86
10" ~ 2.48
05" ~ 3.48
00" ~ 4.0
2-20psi ~ 4.95

Load Map
Screen 3

30" ~ 1.52
25" ~ 1.52
20" ~ 1.52
15" ~ 1.91
10" ~ 2.5
05" ~ 3.50
00" ~ 4.4
2psi ~ 5.62
4psi ~ 6.10
6psi ~ 7.14
8psi ~ 7.86
10psi ~ 8.48
12psi ~ ???
14psi ~ 8.71
16psi ~ 9.00
18psi ~ 9.48
20psi ~ 10.00

Pump Map
Screen 19

Pump2Start ~ 2000
Pump1Amt ~ 15
Pump1Pulse ~ 03
Pump1Trig ~ 13
Pump1Stop ~ 00
Pump1Adv ~ 05

Pump2Time ~ 10
Pump2Amt ~ 30
Pump2Trig ~ 16
Pump2Stop ~ 00
Pump2Adv ~ 05

PumpDwell ~ 3.00
PumpTimers ~ No
Pump1Sync ~ No
PumpSpare ~ 00
PumpCold ~ 00

Water Map
Screen 20

-25 ~ 0
-17 ~ 70
-9 ~ 60
-1 ~ 55
5 ~ 50
11 ~ 50
18 ~ 45
24 ~ 35
31 ~ 30
38 ~ 20
46 ~ 15
60 ~ 12
68 ~ 8
82 ~ 0
99 ~ 0
124 ~ 0

Crank Map
Screen 22

-25 ~ 72
-17 ~ 72
-9 ~ 72
-1 ~ 67
5 ~ 62
11 ~ 50
18 ~ 46
24 ~ 38
31 ~ 31
38 ~ 26
46 ~ 20
60 ~ 15
68 ~ 5
82 ~ 0
99 ~ 0
124 ~ 0

t*map Map
Screen 24

Idle ~ 00
25 ~ 05
20 ~ 04
15 ~ 03
10 ~ 02
05 ~ 00
00 ~ 00
2psi ~ 00
4psi ~ -02
6psi ~ -04
8psi ~ -06
10psi ~ -08
14psi ~ -12
16psi ~ -14
18 psi ~ -14
20 psi ~ -16

t*Inj Map
Screen 27

0500 ~ 120
1000 ~ 150
1500 ~ 150
2000 ~ 150
2500 ~ 150
3000 ~ 150
3500 ~ 150
4000 ~ 180
4500 ~ 210
5000 ~ 210
5500 ~ 210
6000 ~ 240
6500 ~ 240
7000 ~ 270
8000 ~ 270
9000 ~ 270
drugblock12a is offline  
Old 08-22-09, 10:35 AM
  #2  
Engine, Not Motor
iTrader: (1)
 
Aaron Cake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29,674
Likes: 0
Received 24 Likes on 23 Posts
If you are receiving an RPM error, then the Microtech is having issues with noise on the CAS wires.

It's easy to prove too much (or too little fuel), though your map looks fine. Just increase the current load point of the water map and try to start the car.

If all else fails, a push start always works.

Fix the CAS errors first.
Aaron Cake is offline  
Old 08-23-09, 04:01 PM
  #3  
WON'T FORGET DAVE
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
drugblock12a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Twin Cites
Posts: 1,778
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cas errors are now gone. A push start is out of the question. I don't have the means.

I have noticed inconsistent fuel pressure so I am re plumbing my fuel system to run in series with the aeromotive FPR with gauge. Could this have been the cause of some of my problems? I was seeing anywhere from 30 to 40psi. After I finish the fuel system I want to see a solid 40psi.

I did try to increase the water map and got a few sputters but no start. I'm hoping it was the fuel pressure.

Thoughts?

This is what I am seeing:
LOG RPM LOAD T.P.S. Timing Output Water Air Battery AFR Aux 1 Aux 2 Status Errors
# 1 0000 -02 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 12.32v 19.0 . . IDLE . '
# 2 0000 -02 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 10.56v 19.0 . . IDLE . '
# 3 0000 -03 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 10.56v 14.7 . . IDLE . '
# 4 0000 -04 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 10.82v 11.0 . . Crank . '
# 5 0000 -04 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 10.95v 11.0 . . IDLE . '
# 6 0320 -05 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.00v 11.0 . . IDLE . '
# 7 0000 -05 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.12v 11.0 . . Crank . '
# 8 0320 -07 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.12v 11.0 . . IDLE . '
# 9 0320 -07 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.18v 11.0 . . IDLE . '
# 10 0320 -07 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.25v 11.0 . . Crank . '
# 11 0380 -08 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.25v 11.0 . . Crank . '
# 12 0440 -09 Hg 00% 00 6.90sT 31c 20c 11.38v 11.0 . . IDLE . '
# 13 0380 -09 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.38v 11.0 . . Crank . '
# 14 0380 -09 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.38v 11.0 . . IDLE . '
# 15 0380 -09 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.25v 11.0 . . Crank . '
# 16 0380 -10 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.18v 11.0 . . IDLE . '
# 17 0440 -10 Hg 00% 00 6.90sT 31c 20c 11.38v 11.0 . . Crank . '
# 18 0500 -12 Hg 00% 20 6.43sT 31c 20c 11.44v 11.0 . . IDLE . '
# 19 0380 -12 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.44v 11.0 . . Crank . '
# 20 0380 -12 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.32v 11.0 . . IDLE . '
# 21 0380 -12 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.18v 11.0 . . Crank . '
# 22 0440 -12 Hg 00% 00 6.76sT 31c 20c 11.44v 11.0 . . Crank . '
# 23 0380 -12 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.25v 11.0 . . IDLE . '
# 24 0380 -12 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.25v 11.0 . . Crank . '
# 25 0380 -12 Hg 00% 00 11.57sT 31c 20c 11.25v 11.0 . . Crank . '
drugblock12a is offline  
Old 08-23-09, 05:44 PM
  #4  
Rotary Freak
iTrader: (8)
 
rx72c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,608
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Your map looks good.

Your plugs look bad.

Is your engine rebuilt?
rx72c is offline  
Old 08-23-09, 07:36 PM
  #5  
WON'T FORGET DAVE
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
drugblock12a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Twin Cites
Posts: 1,778
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine is rebuilt with 30 miles. It is good.

Plugs are brand new out of the box. They are cold range tho. Only ones I could find.
drugblock12a is offline  
Old 08-24-09, 07:39 AM
  #6  
Rotary Freak
iTrader: (8)
 
rx72c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,608
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Theirs your problem.

Chuck some oil in it.

And take it for a drive.
rx72c is offline  
Old 08-24-09, 08:49 AM
  #7  
Engine, Not Motor
iTrader: (1)
 
Aaron Cake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29,674
Likes: 0
Received 24 Likes on 23 Posts
I'm not exactly sure what you are referring to regarding the fuel pressure, but yes, inconsistent fuel pressure is a major issue. Going from 30 to 40 PSI dramatically increases the amount of fuel from the injectors, and going the opposite direction does the reverse.
Aaron Cake is offline  
Old 08-24-09, 11:04 PM
  #8  
WON'T FORGET DAVE
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
drugblock12a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Twin Cites
Posts: 1,778
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
It was the fuel pressure. It was bouncing around far too much. Not to mention the either the microtech or the fuel pump relay that comes out of the mircotech was shutting off the fuel pump whenever it wanted.

So I ran a fused switch separately so I can control my fuel pump how I like.

The cold range plugs worked fine once I got the fuel pressure stabilized. The first crank got her running once I had 40 psi.

Thanks for all your help. This board makes me glad to own a 7 and run a mircotech.

Here's a picture of my new fuel setup. Cost a pretty penny but I made it myself and I'm glad this issue got me off my *** to do an upgrade.

http://i277.photobucket.com/albums/k...gie54/fuel.jpg
drugblock12a is offline  
Old 08-26-09, 09:30 AM
  #9  
Engine, Not Motor
iTrader: (1)
 
Aaron Cake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29,674
Likes: 0
Received 24 Likes on 23 Posts
Having a switch controlled fuel pump is unsafe. In the event of a collision, the pump will continue to run and potentially spray high pressure fuel all over the place. Major fire/explosion hazard.

The Microtech primes the pump and keeps it running as long as it is receiving ignition triggers. It sounds like you may have had a defective relay. I seriously recommend just getting a new relay and connecting up the Microtech's fuel pump control.
Aaron Cake is offline  
Old 08-26-09, 11:10 AM
  #10  
WON'T FORGET DAVE
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
drugblock12a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Twin Cites
Posts: 1,778
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I will definetly do that today once I get to the auto parts store. I just needed it running so I could get there. My old man's POS malibu died and he's using my second car so I was left on foot with no rx-7.
drugblock12a is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Th0m4s
Build Threads
25
02-26-19 02:04 AM
streetlegal?
New Member RX-7 Technical
11
08-11-18 05:44 PM
Skeese
Adaptronic Engine Mgmt - AUS
65
03-28-17 03:30 PM
mazdaverx713b
Build Threads
48
04-21-16 06:45 AM
85TIIDEVIL
2nd Generation Specific (1986-1992)
7
08-25-15 12:09 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Microtech Another No Start Thread


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: