2nd Generation Specific (1986-1992) 1986-1992 Discussion including performance modifications and technical support sections.
Sponsored by:

How much oil does a 13B hold?

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-06, 07:12 PM
Ooooooh, custom.

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How much oil does a 13B hold?

I know that i need to change it soon, and im probably going to go with royal purple, for engine, and tranny fluid.

Also, im sure its ugly on the inside, so how would i clean it all out during the oil change? I want it to be as smooth as possible in there.

Suggested weight of the oil? Im fairly new to the rotary, and dont want to botch it...

Thanks!
Old 11-16-06, 07:22 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
5 quarts of Castrol GTX 20-50 in summer and I use 10-30 in winter.
Old 11-16-06, 07:41 PM
Interruptor Illuminada

6 quarts to be safe.
Old 11-16-06, 08:14 PM
Roamin Gnome Racing. Bah!

Originally Posted by Innovation
5 quarts of Castrol GTX 20-50 in summer and I use 10-30 in winter.

I ran 20w-50 in mine in the old motor last summer..never had a problem.
Old 11-16-06, 08:54 PM
Rotary $ > AMG $

Received 24 Likes on 23 Posts
Originally Posted by riverzendz
6 quarts to be safe.

Yes, and while you are at it put 22 gallons of gas in the tank, just so you won't run out.

How bout 6 quarts in the tranny? And 5 Gallons of coolant?

The following users liked this post:
eriksiddons (02-21-19)
Old 11-16-06, 09:09 PM
Ooooooh, custom.

okay, so 5 quart pan, 20W50 royal purple, and what about tranny fluid, how much does that take? suggested weight?

Thanks for everything so far!
Old 11-16-06, 09:17 PM
burn to burn

Received 15 Likes on 12 Posts
rotary noob unless you are runing premix I don't reccomend synthetics like royal purple for the engine oil.. it's debateable so feel free to do some research
Old 11-16-06, 09:19 PM
Interruptor Illuminada