Single Turbo RX-7's Questions about all aspects of single turbo setups.

Advice:Ignition split..tuning myself

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-08, 07:06 PM
BadAss DoItYourselfer

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Advice:Ignition split..tuning myself

I got to tune myself..no tuners in my area.
setup: 1993 S6, stock motor/injectors, gt40r single conversion, EMS Stinger ecu.

Goal 12psi.

I know the basics for tuning regarding timing, but I am not too experienced with rotarys. My ems has an option for trailing split from .00*trailing to 16 trailing*, and thats the only option for split. There is no grid for me to vary the split based in manifold presure or rpm. I assume that the setting wil be fixed for all loads or rpm.

Is this safe and what degree should I set the trailing plugs.

I am pesently running .00 trailing (no split I assume) and boosting about 6psi with timing about 24* BTDC
Old 12-27-08, 10:54 PM
SAE Junkie

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by jetlude
setup: 1993 S6, stock motor/injectors, gt40r single conversion, EMS Stinger ecu.

Goal 12psi.

I know the basics for tuning regarding timing, but I am not too experienced with rotarys. My ems has an option for trailing split from .00*trailing to 16 trailing*, and thats the only option for split. There is no grid for me to vary the split based in manifold presure or rpm. I assume that the setting wil be fixed for all loads or rpm.

I am pesently running .00 trailing (no split I assume) and boosting about 6psi with timing about 24* BTDC
I would set the split to about 8-12.
Old 12-27-08, 11:48 PM
4th string e-armchair QB

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You should be fine at 12*, but does it have a different setting for idle? At idle you really should keep the stock 15* split, 5 and 20 atdc. Under full throttle, low load (vacuum) you can drop that split to basically zero, but once you get into the higher load maps, up to 12 psi, 12* would be fairly conservative.