1st Generation Specific (1979-1985) 1979-1985 Discussion including performance modifications and technical support sections

My 4 port 13B

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-05, 03:34 AM
Lapping = Fapping

Received 70 Likes on 64 Posts
My 4 port 13B

I've collected enough parts to build a functional engine. It's got parts from three R5 13Bs. This is my first attempt at a large streetport, so be gentle.

Stock

Not so stock.

Here's the front port. I left a smooth but not glass-like surface in there. Then I polished the closing edge. Hmm, it shows up better in real life.

I also added an Ito 2mm bevel to the exhaust ports. Think it's big enough? It's missing some chrome (less than peejay's lol) but notice how it's missing it in the usual spot adjacent to the port? If you think that's bad, you should see the other one that came from that engine.
Attached Thumbnails My 4 port 13B-01.jpg   My 4 port 13B-02.jpg   My 4 port 13B-03.jpg   My 4 port 13B-04.jpg  
Old 03-19-05, 03:47 AM
Lapping = Fapping

Here you go. Nice, huh? See those two sets of marker lines? The lower level represents a stock T2 port. The upper level is where I ported to. I also opened the port a tad sooner than stock with the addition of a slight rounded edge for that wonderful D shape rotarygod is such a fan of.

Ugly!

Aside from the obvious differences a paint job can make, I knew I needed to mate the relatively good rotor housing with my nearly crushed one from an overheated engine. It's only down to .06mm, which is spec, so I'm happy. It's also missing a lot less chrome. Some chatter marks though.

Another comparison shot.
Attached Thumbnails My 4 port 13B-05.jpg   My 4 port 13B-06.jpg   My 4 port 13B-07.jpg   My 4 port 13B-08.jpg  
Old 03-19-05, 04:13 AM
Lapping = Fapping