2nd Generation Specific (1986-1992) 1986-1992 Discussion including performance modifications and technical support sections.
Sponsored by:

trying to revive one that has sat for a few years, a couple ?s

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-04, 09:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
trying to revive one that has sat for a few years, a couple ?s

I am a newbie to rotary engines but I think they rule.
My friend has let his 88 n/a convertible sit for about 21/2 years without starting it. I have finally convinced him to let me have it if I get it running. He said it had major fuel injector leakage when he stopped driving it and since then some squirrells have decided to infest the engine bay and chew on some wires.

I plan on replacing all fluids and filters, plugs and wires prior to starting. Is there anything else I should be concerned with?
Should I replace the fuel injectors right away or try to get it started first?
Old 09-16-04, 09:15 PM
Like Ghandi with a gun

well, you should be concerned about those wires don't you think?

I'd get the injectors out and sent to cruzin performance to be cleaned and balanced. In the mean time you can be patching the wire harness and doing the pheonix maintnance plan
Old 09-16-04, 11:41 PM
Nurse I need 1300cc's NOW

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
just wait till that smoke pours out of the exhaust ... hmm memories. basically just do what kenneth said. sent out the injectors. while they are gone. repair and replace what you can . might wanna take a look in the gas tank to . i found some nasty suprises when i opened that tank after mine had sat for about 1.5 years maybe more. just go over the car and find stuff that needs fixing. and what you said. fluids, belts, filters, plugs, wires good luck .. its nice to have friends that give you cars!! eheheh
Old 09-16-04, 11:47 PM
Never give up!

Received 52 Likes on 36 Posts
ATF in the cylinders, spin it- see if it turns over, hope its not carboned locked.
Old 09-17-04, 12:07 AM
Like Ghandi with a gun