Build Threads
Sponsored by:

FC Track build with a Touch of G

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-11, 03:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
FC Track build with a Touch of G

So this is my first time making one of these. I guess I'll start off with my self. I work at Dynamic Autosport in Lake Forest, California. I have been working there for close to a year now in sales.

I picked up the car from a friend of mine for $400. It is a 1987 Turbo II with a manual steering rack. When I first got it it was missing hood, seats, steering wheel, headlights, engine, transmission, and exhaust. The body only had 87,000 miles on it and was pretty damn clean. My plans with the car were to make it into a daily but also be able to take it to the track and have fun.

This is what it looked like when I first got it.

So first thing I did to the car was get a hub and steering wheel for it. I went with the Momo hub and a Momo Montecarlo 320mm wheel. I also ordered a NRG thin quick release but it took a little longer to get.

Then I got the quick release in so I threw that on real quick. Only problem I found was that NRG only gave me 5 of the bolts to attach the quick release to the hub. But I already talked to them, and I’ll be getting another one soon.

Now on to the drive train, a friend of mine works at a shop called Competition GT in Costa Mesa and he was telling me that his boss just picked up an FC as well. His car is a s4 gxl with about 140,xxx miles on it. His plans were to swap an Ls1 into it as the shop he owns works mainly with the Ls engines. So he offered to trade me his whole n/a drive train for my rear end. Now since I just want to get this running for now I figured why not it can’t hurt anything. So ended up just taking out the whole rear subframe and swapping that with him first.

Sorry for the blurry pic it was the only one I could find.