1st Gen General Discussion The place for non-technical discussion about 1st Gen RX-7s or if there's no better place for your topic

Scam? I hope not.

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Oct 3, 2008 | 06:25 PM
  #1  
Johnny Boost's Avatar
Thread Starter
Senior Member
Tenured Member 05 Years
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 309
Likes: 0
From: Loveland CO
Scam? I hope not.

As many of you may know I'm trying to sell my 79 Limited. I posted it on the Facebook marketplace with details and a picture about the car like a few weeks ago.

Anywho I got a e-mail from a guy who is interested in the car with out the engine (which is how I prefer to sell it) willing to pay my asking price of $2500.

However he's doing it as a business I guess because he has a customer looking for a limited edition RX-7.

I'm curious what you guys think? I need the money but I don't want to get scamed. His grammar isn't very good and he says he's on official business in the UK or else he'd come and look at the car him self.

He's wanting Name, address and phone number. He says he'll be paying with a cashiers check.

He writes in his e-mail,
"As soon as you send these information, your payment shall be in progress and you shall receive the check payment in your mail,then take to your bank to cash it.
NOTE : PAYMENT AND ALL NEEDED DOCUMENT SHALL BE CLEARED BEFORE THE RELEASED OF THE CAR
After which i will send an agent to come pick-up the car with all the necessary document of transaction including the identity card and a writing document signed and stamped by me."

So what do you guys think? Any suggestions and advice would be great.

Here's what i told him about the car asking price wise...
> $2500 OBO for car withOUT the engine
>
> $3500 OBO for car WITH the engine
>
> If you are looking to build it back to original condition I'd be willing to let it go for less without the aftermarket parts on it but that is something we could work on at another time

I'm just nervous to sell it without meeting the guy. I guess if I can get the money then i won't be worried but ugh I don't want to get a fake check and loose the car.

Also the guy I sold my MR2 to is an auto broker and he bought the car for himself. So, I called him up and asked if this seems legit or what not. He recommends having the guy send me the cashiers check and then take the check to my bank to have them verify it before I release the car to or anyone.

Any other suggestions?

Last edited by Johnny Boost; Oct 3, 2008 at 06:32 PM.
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2008 | 07:25 PM
  #2  
Johnny Boost's Avatar
Thread Starter
Senior Member
Tenured Member 05 Years
 
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 309
Likes: 0
From: Loveland CO
Well after some research I've decided it's a scam.

Here is a website that more or less describes the whole situation...

http://www.used-car-advisor.com/car-buyer-scam.htm
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2008 | 08:27 PM
  #3  
trochoid's Avatar
Old Fart Young at Heart
Tenured Member 10 Years
iTrader: (6)
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 15,145
Likes: 8
From: St Joe MO
E-mail the guy back and tell him that you're more than willing to sell the car to his agent, only if he shows up with cash. That will probably be the last you hear from him.
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2008 | 08:35 PM
  #4  
RX7 allnight's Avatar
707
Tenured Member: 20 Years
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 854
Likes: 0
From: Santa Rosa Ca
three words to live by

cash in hand
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2008 | 08:37 PM
  #5  
Rx-7Doctor's Avatar
Lives on the Forum
Tenured Member 10 Years
iTrader: (13)
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,584
Likes: 12
From: Oregon
Most everything that comes from the UK is a SCAM!
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2008 | 09:10 PM
  #6  
Jeezus's Avatar
Stu-Tron Get Yo Groove On
Tenured Member: 15 Years
iTrader: (5)
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 8,482
Likes: 31
From: Huntsville AL
I Cant Wait To Cash My Nigerian Check
Reply
Old Oct 3, 2008 | 09:19 PM
  #7  
Kerebrus's Avatar
Banned. I got OWNED!!!
iTrader: (30)
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,608
Likes: 0
From: Cali Native
UK/Nigeria/Africa/In the marines all scams
Reply
Old Oct 4, 2008 | 11:03 AM
  #8  
NCross's Avatar
I have a rotary addiction
Tenured Member: 15 Years
iTrader: (18)
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,815
Likes: 24
From: Columbia, Tennessee
It's Al Quada!!
Reply
Old Oct 4, 2008 | 01:04 PM
  #9  
blackdeath647's Avatar
weak minds wear the crown
Tenured Member 10 Years
iTrader: (2)
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,105
Likes: 1
From: Hudson, NC
^hahaha, well man i'm glad you got your **** figured out, i'd hate for you to get scammed like that
Reply
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Matthew Diaz
Introduce yourself
0
Sep 18, 2015 03:37 AM
meetRoX7e
General Rotary Tech Support
4
Sep 11, 2015 11:09 AM
The1Sun
1st Generation Specific (1979-1985)
0
Sep 7, 2015 10:21 PM
whinin
New Member RX-7 Technical
10
Sep 5, 2015 11:52 PM
Murilli
Midwest RX-7 Forum
0
Sep 3, 2015 09:10 AM




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.