1st Generation Specific (1979-1985) 1979-1985 Discussion including performance modifications and technical support sections

MSD box install

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-03, 11:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
MSD box install

im still confused on how to install the box to both coils- the instructions do not apply, I dont need to boxes do I?
Old 07-26-03, 11:56 AM
Administrator

Received 59 Likes on 36 Posts
You need to PM V8kilr who can do this in his sleep UNDERNEATH the car...
Old 07-28-03, 12:02 PM

bump
Old 07-28-03, 12:13 PM
Are you gonna shift?!

Are you converting to direct fire?
Old 07-28-03, 02:37 PM

no, im just adding the "blaster" box, it was about $80
Old 07-30-03, 11:06 PM

I'm new to rotarys so could you explain the direct fire.

I mave two MSD 6A boxes and 2 MSD coils I was going to put on tomorrow but I want to know more direct fire first.
Old 07-30-03, 11:16 PM

I have an 80 RX7 with a distributor with points and vaccuum advance.
Old 07-30-03, 11:55 PM

Originally posted by racintang

I mave two MSD 6A boxes and 2 MSD coils I was going to put on tomorrow but I want to know more direct fire first.

Check out: https://www.rx7club.com/forum/showth...hreadid=188907
for info on direct fire Ignition.

If you need a 3rd Igniter for that set-up check Ebay. There is a person on there selling the J109 Igniters for $15.99 to $21.00, which is very cheap!
Old 07-31-03, 12:21 AM
GSL-SE PRO

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
On my car i was ONLY able to run directfire....

I had to get 3 coils, I tried running it normally and it started BUT it was horrible.

Also when you go directfire, get ready to buy a set of sparkplug wires that you cut and crimp to size. Because of the extra coil wire you'll need plus the new distances for the wires from spark plug to coil.

If you got a SE model pm me and I'll tell you what to do. I did mine about 2 months ago.

Or follow max7's website with the how to.
Old 07-31-03, 04:26 AM