2nd Generation Specific (1986-1992) 1986-1992 Discussion including performance modifications and technical support sections.
Sponsored by:

NA-turbo clarification

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-05, 06:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
NA-turbo clarification

ok i have read the na=turbo archive and it was very informative :

now i just wanna clarification on something.
if i have a any year gen2 and i get a jdm 13bt complete with motor and trans and all accesorys and ecu and wiring harness uncut will it pretty much be a direct fit into my n/a? my main concern with this is the ecu and wiring harness problems. not the engine wiring harness because that and the ecu come together my concern is the body harness. am i pretty much correct in my way of thinking on this subject? i am a mechanic at a dealership and have swapped many honda and toyota motors so im not a newb do swapping motors. thank you very much for any information you might find helpful to me.
Old 09-19-05, 06:36 PM
Super Raterhater

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
The JDM harness enters the wrong side of the car, so you have to stretch it to make it fit, which isn't exactly the best way.
Old 09-19-05, 06:42 PM

well i could get around that problem by extending all the wiring which isnt a big deal. does the body harness plug into the jdm ecu though?
Old 09-19-05, 06:45 PM
Super Raterhater

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
The dash harness plugs into the ECU, yes. Depending on the series, I think the only difference between the body harness and the engine harness was the alternator plug, but I can't remember entirely, it's been a while since I did any on a S4, s5 was straight plug and go
Old 09-19-05, 06:52 PM

good deal sounds like that makes up my mind thanks alot
Old 09-19-05, 10:38 PM
Tear you apart

Received 32 Likes on 30 Posts
Also if are you getting the TII rear end?
Old 09-19-05, 11:41 PM
Lives on the Forum

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Originally Posted by motoworx