RX7Club.com


Go Back   RX7Club.com > Generation Specific > 3rd Generation Specific (1993-2002)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Used CarsVendors TSB & Recalls Garage
Welcome to RX7Club.com

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-04, 08:38 PM   #1
Rotorite
 
bust's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: usa
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to bust
HELP: Possibly bidding on a FD3S, is this a scam?

I'm just trying to decide whether or not this is just another ebay scam. I'm no dummy and I'm not going to use any wire transfer service for a deposit that doesnt insure my money, but I would still like to know. I noticed one of the tell tale signs, the Ships to "Worldwide," also there is some bad grammar in the lower piece, just seems like it might have been written by some foreigner, like the russians and middle eastern people that usually attempt the ebay car scams. (From experience, not stereotype)

I had seen this car once listed before not too long, and it also has Florida plates in the pictures, while the dealer says he is out of California. I tried emailing him but got no reply.. I really like the car and deffinately want to get a 3rd gen, my brother is Fujikuro on here with the silver 94 touring, but I just don't think this is legit. If anyone knows the seller or can help me out I would appreciate it.. Thanks. - Tim

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...488670601&rd=1
__________________
bust
bust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-04, 08:54 PM   #2
I can haz rotary?
10 Year Member
 
Jesuscookies's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (1)

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,793
Send a message via Yahoo to Jesuscookies
Have him write your name on big piece of paper a take a picture of it with the car. This will at least ensure he is with the car.
Jesuscookies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-04, 09:00 PM   #3
All out Freak!
5 Year Member
 
fd3s_rx7's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (13)

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sac., CA
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesuscookies
Have him write your name on big piece of paper a take a picture of it with the car. This will at least ensure he is with the car.
what if he use photoshop??
anyway the guy looks reasonable. doesn't look like scam to me.

Last edited by fd3s_rx7; 09-07-04 at 09:04 PM.
fd3s_rx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-04, 09:40 PM   #4
addicted to lounge
 
widebody2's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny,LI
Posts: 1,706
The guy has 179 successful transactions with not one negative feedback....thats pretty hard to do. I think its legit.
__________________
; )
widebody2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-04, 10:11 PM   #5
Insane Burnout
 
USCmatt's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: S.Carolina
Posts: 448
I guess one thing i noticed was that the car has:

"Pettit 3" downpipe , Pettit 3" center section, Greddy Power Extreme exhaust"

and..........no upgraded ecu listed...........and under 3000 miles on all the parts.
USCmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-04, 10:24 PM   #6
All out Freak!
 
jt-imports's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 1,547
low oil pressure hehe..
jt-imports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-04, 10:31 PM   #7
Power Trippin'
 
SpeedKing's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Land of The Quick
Posts: 3,104
Off-topic I know, but since you're "fujikuro's" brother, is this you that got beat in this thread?

http://www.rx7club.com/showthread.php?t=251023
SpeedKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-04, 11:06 PM   #8
2JZ traitor
 
su_maverick's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Yonkers NY
Posts: 2,276
Send a message via AIM to su_maverick Send a message via Yahoo to su_maverick
yeah, Id like to know what all happened out of that? Hopefully you are paying out of your piggy bank after a large settlement.
su_maverick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-04, 11:20 PM   #9
shoo shoo retarded flu!
 
zmarko's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,560
Send a message via AIM to zmarko
One thing caught my eye, is that he lists his location as Anaheim, CA. And the car has a license plate from FLA. But, that could be no big deal at all.
zmarko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-04, 11:48 PM   #10
Import Connoisseur
 
tt2323's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 1,334
Feedback means nothing, I've seen many scams from sellers with high feedback. I'm not sure how its done but i believe someone steals the account, and is able to access it and list items. Which by most looking at the feedback think its legit BE CAREFUL, if it looks to good to be true usually it is. I noticed the auction ended, anyone from the board win?
tt2323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 08:39 AM   #11
Insane Burnout
5 Year Member
 
driFDer's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (1)

Join Date: May 2004
Location: socal
Posts: 538
Is it just me or has that car been selling online since like '02? I've seen it being sold way too many times, most likely a scam but who knows.
driFDer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 10:13 AM   #12
White chicks > *
5 Year Member
 
1QWIK7's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (33)

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Secaucus, New Jersey
Posts: 13,168
Send a message via AIM to 1QWIK7
i've seen this car way too many times..

imo i wont trust him
__________________
93 VR FD - FOR SALE (making room for the C6Z )
06 IBM GTO M6

FOR SALE: 4-18x9.5 varrstoen ES matte black wheels with tires
http://www.rx7club.com/ne-sale-wante.../#post11282891
1QWIK7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 10:22 AM   #13
TRINGLS
 
JaNusSolSumnus's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,053
Send a message via AIM to JaNusSolSumnus
Also note the 'aftermarket AST' when the AST pictured is completely stock -- I'd leave this one alone and find another.

~Kris
__________________
::1994 FD3S RX-7::
> Petitt Intake > Bonez Hardpipes > Efini Y-Pipe
> S.S. Downpipe > S.S. Mipipe > TurboTuf 3" Cat-Back
> Koyo Radiator + Petitt AST > Custom SMIC
> ACT Street/Strip Clutch > RacingBeat 9.5lbs Flywheel

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...ives/rxsig.jpg
JaNusSolSumnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 11:17 AM   #14
RIP Chris Carlisi, 6/5/08
10 Year Member
 
GoodfellaFD3S's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (148)

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NYC/NJ area
Posts: 27,698
Send a message via AIM to GoodfellaFD3S
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by driFDer
Is it just me or has that car been selling online since like '02? I've seen it being sold way too many times, most likely a scam but who knows.
That is an outstanding avatar. details por favor
GoodfellaFD3S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 12:23 PM   #15
Insane Burnout
5 Year Member
 
driFDer's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (1)

Join Date: May 2004
Location: socal
Posts: 538
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodfellaFD3S
That is an outstanding avatar. details por favor
Gracias, its Jordan Capri and friends. Was looking for a song on Kazza and dl it by accident. Turns out the chick is fkin hott. I couldn't resist. Heres a bigger pic:
Attached Thumbnails
HELP: Possibly bidding on a FD3S, is this a scam?-jordan-capri-12-4-jpg  
driFDer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 12:27 PM   #16
SINFUL7
5 Year Member
 
KaiFD3S's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (36)

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Alaska
Posts: 6,562
Jan Kairuz Kai Baldy Siinful7 Sinfull7
Send a message via AIM to KaiFD3S
yup I have seen that car before, but check it out the guy does have a 100% feedback...

Nice avatar driFDer...yum yum...
__________________
KaiFD3S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 02:00 PM   #17
Super Snuggles
 
jimlab's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 10,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaiFD3S
check it out the guy does have a 100% feedback...
Would someone running a scam bother to hijack the account of someone with ****-poor feedback?

His transactions for this year total a whopping $20 or so, and his other sales and purchases are all too old to verify if they were at all car-related. You should always look at what activity the seller has in his past. If they're selling beanie babies and all of a sudden they have a Supra or FD for sale for an incredible price, it doesn't matter if they have 10,000 feedback and it's all positive. Walk away.
jimlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 10:39 PM   #18
Viable fossil
5 Year Member
 
Sgtblue's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mid-west
Posts: 6,403
If it helps, the plates are valid and current to a SILVER 95 Mazda (no make indicated)
Sgtblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-04, 10:39 PM
RX7Club
Mazda RX7




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new fd's in the us...? anyone interested? poor college student 3rd Generation Specific (1993-2002) 94 06-26-05 07:43 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.
All content Copyright © 2007 by Internet Brands, Inc.

Contacts

SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.